NYC – THE FOOD

I love food. This post is dedicated to everything that I ate that was awesome.

When I first got in I really wanted to try Baohaus cause I had heard so much about it and missed out the last time I was in NYC.

NYC_july2013_web-015

I recommend the birdhouse bao, or fried chicken. It was the clear favourite.

NYC_july2013_web-016

We were given the sweet bao fries since we got so much food and they were amazing, don’t mind the neon green sauce it was amazing.

NYC_july2013_web-017

NYC_july2013_web-019

I had been to the Bagel store before and loved it so I had to make the stop in williamsburg to get it again.

NYC_july2013_web-027

NYC_july2013_web-025

This is the french toast bagel with maple bacon cream cheese.

NYC_july2013_web-026

I was told how good the food was at Cafe Habana and I knew they did mexican street corn so I was sold.

NYC_july2013_web-041

The corn was indeed amazing.

NYC_july2013_web-042

The tacos though were some of the worst I’ve ever had. I can make them better at home. which was a disappointment.

NYC_july2013_web-043

Next time I’ll just stick to the take out menu, get the corn and cuban sandwich and thats it.

NYC_july2013_web-044

Every time I’m in nyc I have to go to Momofuku Milk bar and upon my return they opened one in toronto finally which is amazing.

NYC_july2013_web-053

Get the b’day cake truffles.

NYC_july2013_web-054

Next we have Pies & Thighs which I was told about and had seen on diners drive-in’s and dives so I had to go.

NYC_july2013_web-083

I was also informed they only do their homemade donuts on the weekends. We went for brunch and it wasn’t much of a wait at all.

NYC_july2013_web-080

Obviously had to have the staple, chicken and waffles.

NYC_july2013_web-081

The building is deceiving because you only see like 10 tables in the front but there is an add on in the back with a lot more space. The decor was really cool. Will definitely be back next time I’m in NYC.

NYC_july2013_web-082

So I had eaten at La Esquina before but that was the restaurant in the basement thats kind of weird and exclusive and you have to book 3 weeks in advance and then you actually walk to your table through the kitchen, very much like in goodfellas. BUT I had not eaten at the corner upstairs, which was honestly better haha.

NYC_july2013_web-133

This place was so much better than Cafe habana. The carne asada tacos were just like back in california and they had horchata (which wasn’t the best) but it was still horchata on the east coast.

NYC_july2013_web-115

NYC_july2013_web-114

I would say you have to stop by next time you’re around, no wait, walk up window, ready in minutes.

NYC_july2013_web-134

Ended off the trip with Shake shack

NYC_july2013_web-165

Leave a Reply

